Valentine’s Day and Expectations

I woke up this morning with the song by Meatloaf, Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad, stuck in my head (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5hWWe-ts2s if you’ve never heard it).

Particularly the refrain “I want you / I need you / But there ain’t no way I’m ever gonna love you…”

vintage_valentine_02

Wikipedia Commons, Creative Commons License

And besides that being a sucky thing to have stuck in your head on Valentine’s day, it just  makes me think of all the expectations there are surrounding love and Valentine’s day. (Or at least it did as soon as I saw today’s daily prompt)

Valentine’s Day is a day about love and commitment and relationships. And sometimes it really sucks not having a Valentine. Sometimes you really want those cliche things – in my whole life no one has ever bought me flowers, or candy.  And I do want that. There is an expectation that comes with Valentines’ Day that, being a girl who wants to be in a relationship, someone will eventually get me those things. (I’ve bought them for partners in the past.)

But what I want more is love. What I want more than any of those silly heart shaped anythings and gifts decked out in read and pink is someone who cares about me to spend the day with. But not just today – everyday.

I’m afraid of being stuck with two out of three  (“I want you / I need you / But there ain’t no way I’m ever gonna love you…”) but I don’t even have that right now. Nobody wants me, nobody needs me, and certainly nobody loves me. I don’t mean to be complaining about it, that’s not my point.

My point is – celebrate today with your loved ones, if you have them, if you can. With your significant other in particular. And don’t let any particular expectations of the holiday get you down.

Just love.

via Daily Prompt: Expectation

One thought on “Valentine’s Day and Expectations

  1. It sure does seem like what goes through everyone who doesn’t have a significant other at this time of the year, but honestly I think that one day shouldn’t be something where all expectations be raised where the heart yearns for something it doesnt get…
    It’s a continuous flow of moments of love that matters rather than one day for love…
    Well, being single, thats how I console myself about getting through this day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

